Ethics Committees

The main purpose of the Ethics Committee is to ensure that research (and allied activities) carried out with/on human and animal subjects at Dakshin follow established ethical protocols that are indispensable for good scientific research and practice. Dakshin’s Ethics Committee is comprised of experts from different institutions who have long-standing experience in dealing with ethical questions regarding human and animal focused research.

Ethics Committee Coordinator

Adithya Pillai, Dakshin Foundation

Human Research Ethics Review Committee (HREC)

Aarthi Sridhar, Dakshin Foundation (HREC, Chair)

Kanchi Kohli, Centre for Policy Research, New Delhi 

Dr. Siddhartha Krishnan, Ashoka Trust for Research in Ecology and the Environment, Bangalore

Dr. Bharath Sundaram, KREA University, Andhra Pradesh

Adithya Pillai, Dakshin Foundation

Animal Research Ethics Review Committee (AREC)

Dr. Andrea Phillott, FLAME University, Pune (AREC, Chair)

Dr. Shomita Mukherjee, Salim Ali Centre for Ornithology and Natural History, Coimbatore

Dr. Maria Thaker, Centre for Ecological Sciences, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

Dr. Robin Vijayan, Indian Institute of Science, Education and Research, Tirupati

Chandana Pusapati, Dakshin Foundation